Reserve 12 seats for refugees from Pakistan’s Kashmir Legislative Assembly

With strict security measures adopted throughout Pakistan, the election of 12 refugee seats for Azad Jammu and Kashmir has begun

These 12 seats are reserved for Kashmir refugees in Pakistan, of which 6 seats are for refugees migrating from Jammu and Kashmir Valley.

The vote to elect representatives to the Legislative Assembly of Azad Jammu and Kashmir is underway.
In Rawalpindi District and Islamabad, voters voted for three AJK parliamentary seats. The LA-93 Jammu-VI constituency includes parts of Rawalpindi Subdistrict and Khyber Pakhtunkhwan, with a total of 36,455 voters.

At the same time, LA-43 Valley-IV consists of parts of the Rawalpindi Division, with eight candidates participating in the competition. The number of votes for this seat is 2457 votes.
In the third seat of the Kashmir legislature LA-44 Valley-V, 13 candidates competed for the seat with a total of 6,340 votes.

In Peshawar, vote for the LA-45 constituency of the Kashmir parliament. The police detained six people on suspicion of disrupting the election process.

The People’s Party Senator Taj Haider filed a complaint with the Election Committee about shooting incidents near polling stations 91, 92, 93, 94, 95 and 101 in the LA-10 constituency. “The shooting damaged the vehicle of the BJP candidate,” Taj Haider said in the complaint.
Karachi, Hyderabad, Ghotki, Sanghar and other areas in Sindh are also voting.

Some of the constituencies of the AJK Parliament are the largest in terms of area, such as the Jammu-1 constituency, whose voters are distributed in Punjab, Sindh and Balochistan, involving 48 districts.
Voters in another electoral district reserved for refugees from the Kashmir Valley are scattered in 27 districts in Sindh and Balochistan.

According to the Election Commission, 5,129 polling stations were set up for the 3.2 million registered voters in the AJK election, of which 826 were declared the most sensitive and 1,209 were declared sensitive.

Voting starting at 08:00 in the morning will continue until 5:00 in the afternoon without any breaks, and the results of the polling station will be announced one hour after the voting ends.

According to statistics, Pakistan has 701 candidates competing for 45 ordinary seats, including 12 refugee seats.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button