PM Shehbaz's 37-strong federal cabinet takes oath

Senate chairman Sadiq Sanjrani presided over on Tuesday the oath-taking ceremony of the members of Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif’s 37-member cabinet after President Dr Arif Alvi was said to have green lighted the nominations.

Sanjrani delivered the oath to Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Ahsan Iqbal, Rana Sanaullah, Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, Rana Tanveer Hussain, Khurram Dastgir Khan, Marriyum Aurangzeb, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Miftah Ismail, Mian Javed Latif, Riaz Hussain Pirzada, Murtaza Javed Abbasi, Azam Nazir Tarar, Syed Khurshid Ahmad Shah, Syed Naveed Qamar, Sherry Rehman, Abdul Qadir Patel, Shazia Marri, Syed Murtaza Mahmood, Sajid Hussain Turi, Ehsan-ur-Rehman Mazari, Abid Hussain, Asad Mahmood, Abdul Wasay, and Mufti Abdul Shakoor.

The ministers administered the oath also included Talha Mahmood, Syed Aminul Haq, Syed Faisal Ali Sabzwari, Muhammad Israr Tareen, Nawabzada Shah Zain Bugti and Tariq Bashir Cheema were approved as federal ministers.

LIVE #APPNews : Acting President Sadiq Sanjrani administers oath to members of Federal Cabinet #Islamabad @PresOfPakistan @PakPMO
— APP 🇵🇰 (@appcsocialmedia) April 19, 2022


In addition, Dr Ayesha Ghous Pasha, Hina Rabbani Khar and Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju were sworn in as ministers of state, whereas Qamar Zaman Kaira, Amir Muqam and Aun Chaudhry were swron in as cabinet advisors.

Sanjrani had earlier administered the oath to Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif in President Dr Arif Alvi’s absence, who went on 'sick' leave ahead of the inauguration.

The ceremony takes place a little over a week after PM Shehbaz was administered oath as the 23rd prime minister of Pakistan.

Read PPP appears reluctant to join federal cabinet

The portfolios were finalised amid rumours of disagreements between the main parites of the government coalition – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl (JUI-F).

A day earlier, it was reported that that the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) will take the ministries of information, finance, interior, planning and development, energy, trade, establishment, cabinet, national security, inter-provincial coordination, law and justice and parliamentary affairs.

The PPP, a major ally of the government, was reported to get the ministries of foreign affairs, water resources, health, human rights, education, climate change, communications, industries and production, besides the head of the Benazir Income Support Programme (BISP).

It was also learnt that the JUI-F is to get the housing and works, and religious affairs ministries.

The Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) will get the defense production ministry. The Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P) will get two ministries of maritime affairs and information technology, while the Balochistan National Party-Mengal (BNP-M) will get one ministry. Shahida Akhtar of the JUI-F will be the deputy speaker of the National Assembly.

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button