PM appoints Najam Sethi to chair committee on PCB affairs

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif on Wednesday constituted a committee under the chairmanship of Najam Sethi to run the affairs of the the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for the next 120 days, Express News reported.

Rumours had been circulating in the media for the past few days that the former PCB chief Sethi was in line to take over as the board's chairman again in place of Ramiz Raja.

According to details, the premier has written a letter to the Ministry of Inter Provincial Coordination for the formation of the committee.

The members of the committee include former Test captain Shahid Afridi, former captain of Pakistan's national women's cricket team Sana Mir, former cricketer Shafqat Rana, Shakeel Shaikh, Noman Butt, Gul Zada, Haroon Rashid, Gul Mohammad Kakar, Ayaz Butt, Mustafa Ramday and Chaudhry Arif Saeed.

Read more: Whirlwind of changes expected in PCB in coming days

The committee has been tasked with restoring the 2014 constitution of the PCB. A notification for the formation of the committee would be issued after getting approval from the federal cabinet.

Sources told Cricket Pakistan that several days ago, some board officials contacted Najam Sethi and started trying to save their positions. Chief selector Muhammad Wasim also does not think it is possible to continue in the post.

On the other hand, sources say Ramiz Raja is looking for the option of a legal battle over his possible removal. The immediate effort would be to seek a stay order, sources added, although the potential new setup seems ready in this regard.


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker