Maxwell, Warner, Zampa stand out in Australia’s record victory against Netherlands

Glenn Maxwell’s incredible 44-ball 106, David Warner’s enterprising 93-ball 104, and Adam Zampa’s (4-8) able bowling powered Australia to a record 309-run victory in the history of the World Cup against the Netherlands in the 24th match of the ICC World Cup at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Wednesday.

Chasing an insurmountable target, the Netherlands were off to a decent start, and Vikramjit went on to break five boundaries during the first five overs. But he lost his partner, Max O’Dowd (6), who was looking to slice the boundary off Mitchell Starc, but only found the bowl hitting his stumps.

The departures of his teammates exerted pressure on seasoned player Colin Ackermann, who was trapped by frontline Australian pacer Josh Hazlewood. In his 11-ball 10, Ackermann smashed two boundaries.

Losing his partner put pressure on Vikramjit, who was run out by the invincible Glenn Maxwell.

After a delightful shot for four off Cummins, Bas de Leede (4) was removed by the Australian captain in the same overs.

The things continued to go in the Aussies favour as, in the aftermath, Cummins introduced Mitchell Marsh with the bowl, who bagged the wicket of Sybrand Engelbrecht, who could only score 11 runs with the bat.

After Mitchell Marsh flummoxed Teja Nidamanuru (14), Adam Zampa joined the party, bagging back-to-back wickets from Logan van Beek (0) and Roelof van der Merwe (0). This gave him a chance to bag a hat-trick, but it was well negotiated by the tailender, Aryan Dutt (0).

Zampa, who is leaving no stone unturned in creating his impact in the tournament, trapped Aryan Dutt (1).

All of the Australian bowlers were outstanding and went on to fill the wickets’ column. Adam Zampa (4-8) scooped up four wickets.

Mitchell Marsh (2-19), picked up two key wickets.

Pat Cummins (1-14), Mitchell Starc (1-22) and Josh Hazlewood (1-27) took a scalp each.

Opting to bat first, Pat Cummins-inspired Australia were off to an electrifying start against the giant killers, the Netherlands, in the 24th match of the ICC World Cup at Arun Jaitley Cricket Stadium in Delhi on Wednesday.

David Warner and Steven Smith ensured to tick all the boxes and went on to rack a brilliant partnership to mount pressure on the Dutch side after Mitchell Marsh (9) was removed by dangerous Logan van Beek after smoking two boundaries.

After stitching a formidable 132-run partnership off merely 118 deliveries, Steve Smith made his way back to the pavilion. He smashed a brilliant 68-ball 71 before removed by experienced Dutch spinner Roelof van der Merwe. In his smart knock, Smith creamed nine boundaries and one towering six.

Despite losing Smith, Warner found another able ally in Marnus Labuschagne, who went on to be lethal for the Dutch from the way go and went on to compile a fiery 47-ball 62, studding with seven boundaries and two gigantic sixes.

But the talented Dutch all-rounder, Bas de Leede, removed Labuschagne after being battered.

Despite being battered, the Dutch bowlers pulled off things in the death overs by removing three Australian batters within 24 runs. David Warner, who looked sublime through the innings, went on to lose his wicket after scoring a blistering century.

In his 93-ball 104, David Warner clobbered 11 boundaries and three sixes before he was removed by Logan van Beek.

However, after losing quick wickets late in the death overs, the Australians came up with the surprise package in Glenn Maxwell, who turned the tides for his side for the ball one and went on to smoke the tournament’s fastest century.

In his incredible knock, Maxwell clubbed nine fours and eight towering sixes.

Despite putting up a mammoth total on the board, Mitchell Marsh (9), Josh Inglis (14), Cameron Green (8), and Mitchell Starc (0) failed to show any significant resistance with the bat.

Captain Pat Cummins (12) and Adam Zampa (1) went on to remain unbeaten.

For Netherlands, Logan van Beek (1-74) went on to top the list of bowlers with the most wickets for the Netherlands. Logan van Beek bagged four wickets despite going for 76 runs.

Bas de Leede also bagged a record, but in terms of the bowler conceding the most runs in an innings in the World Cup. Despite picking up two wickets, Bas de Leede (2-115) conceded 115 runs in his 10 overs.

Aryan Dutt (1-59) picked up a wicket.

Colin Ackermann (0-19), Paul van Meekeren (0-64), Vikramjit Singh (0-27), Roelof van der Merwe (0-41) went on to remain wicketless.

David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis (wk), Cameron Green, Pat Cummins (c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Vikramjit Singh, Max O’Dowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards (c)(wk), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren

Overall ODIs: Matches 2, Australia 2, Netherlands 0

ODI World Cup: Matches 2, Australia 2, Netherlands 0

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker